My Year in Music: 2014

2014mix

So like I mentioned previously for the next few days all of the posts on the blog are going to be fitting a year end extravaganza theme. Today’s post is my year in music. Yes, all the songs I loved this year whether I’m embarrassed by them or not.  What I’ve learned through this journey is I greatly appreciate a good pop tune from time to time. I’m not really ashamed of my choices for the year end mix. It’s kind of a mixture of different genres which is basically where my taste in music has always been, and many of the songs have been the soundtrack to some very fond memories I will have forever. I guess that idea entirely trumps music snobery. Er… that’s not a word but let’s roll with it. Just a note: the mix is a bigger than normal; running 25 songs long and clocks in at just over an hour and thirty minutes. Bit long, sorry!

Tracklist and streaming links to follow. My favorite albums of the year are coming tomorrow so get excited! See you then!

  1. Salute – Little Mix
  2. Bang Bang – Jessie J featuring Nicki Minaj & Ariana Grande
  3. Don’t Tell ‘Em – Jeremih featuring YG
  4. Uptown Funk – Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars
  5. Where Do Broken Hearts Go – One Direction
  6. Love Me Harder – Ariana Grande featuring the Weeknd
  7. Two Weeks – FKA Twigs
  8. Out of the Woods – Taylor Swift
  9. Begging for Thread – Banks
  10. Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran
  11. She’s Not Me – Jenny Lewis
  12. Good Girls – 5 Seconds of Summer
  13. Drunk In Love – Beyoncé featuing Jay Z
  14. Break the Rules – Charli XCX
  15. Girl Almighty – One Direction
  16. Cecilia & the Satellite – Andrew McMahon & the Wilderness
  17. I’m Not the Only One – Sam Smith
  18. Jealous – Nick Jonas
  19. Digital Witness – St. Vincent
  20. Beg For It – Iggy Azalea featuring MO
  21. Robbers – The 1975
  22. Sweatpants – Childish Gambino
  23. Dark Horse – Katy Perry & Juicy J
  24. Rather Be – Clean Bandit & Jess Glyne
  25. God Only Knows – She & Him

Stream on: 8Tracks & Spotify

One comment

Comments are closed.