Mixtape: Christmas 2014

christmas2014

Ah, one week until Christmas Eve which just so happens to be one of my favorite days of the entire year. Of course not for the most obvious of reasons. Santa is a pretty cool guy though. It also means I’ll be spending a lot of time in the kitchen baking and cooking loads of meals, and attending holiday gatherings. Both of those occasions, at least according to me, require some great tunes which is why I’ve decided to share my yearly Christmas mix. My 2012 mix happens to be my most popular mix ever and I’m really proud of it, so this years fits the same theme and mood. There’s a mixture of classics and some newer versions in addition to some of my all time favorites.

Christmas music tends to be an acquired taste since it’s shoved down our throats beginning the day after Halloween no matter how good or bad the versions may be, so I did my best. I’ve also included one giant four hour long Spotify playlist of all sorts of holiday tunes. I didn’t mean for to be four hours, but sometimes a festive mood just begins to snowball.

Links and tracklisting to follow. Enjoy, and happy holidays!

  1. The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole
  2. White Christmas – Bing Crosby
  3. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee
  4. It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Michael Buble
  5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Sam Smith
  6. River – Joni Mitchell
  7. Christmas Must Be Tonight – Bahamas
  8. Real Love – Tom Odell
  9. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year – Andy Williams
  10. Merry Christmas Darling – Christina Perri
  11. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Darlene Love
  12. The Christmas Waltz – Peggy Lee
  13. Baby It’s Cold Outside – Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Jordan
  14. A Snow Globe Christmas – Pink Martini
  15. Dear Santa – Mr Little Jeans
  16. Santa Claus is Coming to Town – Woody Herman
  17. I’ll Be Home for Christmas – Bing Crosby
  18. Merry Christmas Baby – Otis Redding

Listen on 8Tracks or Spotify

Other playlists: The most popular Christmas 2012 / Massive Christmas playlist

