12 Days of Christmas: Day 09

129

Today’s 12 Days of Christmas is a bit of a change. I’ve been sharing my makeup & hair recommendations because I’m actually really proud of how far I’ve come on those two things. I’ve learned so much and tried so many things which is part of getting older and growing, but today I’m sharing something I’ve always known a lot about: movies. Particularly, and fitting with the idea, movies I’ve seen this year that are currently out on DVD/streaming.

Inside Llewyn Davis is a great movie for a blistery winter day. The winter scenes of the movie and the grey undertones of the coloring are so fitting and wonderful. (I saw it on a cold winter night which is why I relate it so much to my winter) The story is strange but interesting, it has typical Coen brother’s dark humor, and the 1960s folk setting is a great setting. Unfortunately, if one doesn’t love folk music of the 1960s, they probably won’t enjoy it and find the music horrible and hard to enjoy. I disagree, and love it particularly, Please Mr. Kennedy, which will literally stay stuck in my head for a week. It also has Justin Timberlake, so there’s that.

Wish I Was Here is the movie I’ve been waiting for since 2005. The movie I didn’t even know I would get or wanted, but then it happened in the strangest way: Kickstarter, and I was ecstatic. While it has many parallels to Braff’s first work, Garden State, I must admit that’s what I liked about it. Garden State was my high school/early 20s experience. Now I have Wish I Was Here and it’s still the perfect combination of storytelling, visuals, and music. Just ask my best friend who is still probably really embarrassed by my reaction to it.

I’ve never met a Wes Anderson movie I didn’t like. That’s a fact. I was anticipating The Grand Budapest Hotel and wasn’t disappointed. It’s quirky and humorous and brightly colored. The scenery and design and I just can’t say enough about it. It might be my favorite movie of 2014. Unless you’re my brother, and think all Wes Anderson movies are just “boring recreations of his home movies.”

Inside Llewyn Davis, Wish I Was Here, Grand Budapest Hotel