5 Things: Holiday Songs

Thanksgiving was only over for about 12 hours when I received a random Snapchat of my younger sister singing along to Christmas music on the radio. It had some caption along the lines of FINALLY. Keep in mind Christmas music has been on the radio for nearly 3 weeks by this point. She has the ultimate self control when it comes to tradition and holiday music so radio stations could learn plenty from her. It made me think of when we were younger how we would wait impatiently every year on Thanksgiving for KEZ (the local light radio station) to flip the switch on the Christmas music, and when it did we listened to it nonstop though Christmas. It was the most exciting thing in our young lives. It meant gifts, family, and most importantly, winter vacation. There’s really no shortage of holiday songs. Just look at the Holiday section of Spotify. There’s literally a playlist for every genre or event of the holiday season. There are songs that bring a smile to my face no matter where I am when I hear them so to get into a festive mood, I chose 5 of those songs to share right now.

The Heat/Snow Miser – The Year Without a Santa Claus

The Year Without a Santa Claus is one of my favorite holiday movies. It’s an family tradition. I’m sure there’s some sort of good/evil background to this portion of the story rather than just strictly being about the weather. It’s jazzy, magical, and a little weird.

Mary’s Boy Child/Oh My Lord – Boney M

It took me until later into adulthood to even figure out who sang this song. It came on nearly every time we went looking at lights much to the amusement of my sister. That scene in a Christmas Story where Ralphie and his family are singing Jingle Bells in the car? Well, replace Jingle Bells with this song and you’ve got my family. I don’t understand why we ever loved it so much, but it still makes me laugh every single time.

White Christmas – The Drifters

The only reason I have a connection to this version of White Christmas is, like any other child who grew up in the 90s, Home Alone. Still to this day that’s my main connection to it, but I’ve come to realize what a true classic it is. And, of course, the perfect addition to any lip-syching concert in the bathroom.

Merry Christmas (Happy Holidays) – *NSYNC

*NSYNC put out a holiday album, as any popular 90s artist did, which featured this lovely song. I haven’t watched the video in a million years..that is until today and let me tell ya, it’s a gem. Not only is Gary Coleman starring in it but there’s a lot of terrible fashion, dance moves, and *NSYNC invade someone’s dinner to give a very uncomfortable performance. What else are the holidays about?

All I Want For Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey

In 1994 one of the greatest modern Christmas songs of all time, All I Want for Christmas Is You, was released. It’s a true classic. It was named the most popular and most played holiday song in the UK and Rolling Stone even dared to call it a “holiday standard.” It also came with a strange video filmed on what appears to be a camcorder that shows Mariah decorating for Christmas and playfully hitting decorations. I’m not really sure why that happens, but I dare anyone not to sing along to this one.

