Friday Five: Halloween Costumes

So Halloween is just a week away and it’s time to start seriously considering costume options. I have a couple floating around, both of which I won’t be sharing, but since I’m going to be at a bar for Halloween my costume must be fairly convenient and not at all annoying. I tend to shed most of my costume by hour one. For example, the year I was Wednesday Addams my braids were gone within 15 minutes. So, I’m a bit disappointed I can’t steal one of Grace’s cheap costume ideas, bummer.

All of these 5 costumes are fairly simple to put together, somewhat work appropriate (if you are into that sort of thing), and translate well to my plans for Halloween eve. Just, for the love of God, don’t go in a hazmat suit or anything related to Ebola. Have a little taste.

1. Suzy Bishop from Moonrise Kingdom

Little-Hipsters8

Suzy is one of my favorite movie characters and last Halloween I sure did see a bunch of them. That said, I did take this idea from Oh Happy Day’s Hipster Halloween costumes for kids but it translates so well to adult costumes as well. Besides…hipster kid costumes are adorable.

2. Ice cream cone
DIY-Ice-Cream-Cone-Costume3-600x900

This is such a cute DIY costume from Studio DIY and definitely work appropriate.

3. Box puns
tumblr_ncspkms0HS1qi97guo1_500

I love puns. I love box puns. Cheap costumes with a box? Even better. See all the ideas here: Cheap Costume Ideas by Grace Helbig

4. Cher Horowitz

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 10.24.25 AM

True story: When I was in 4th grade I used to strictly dress like Cher Horowitz. No, not around Halloween. You could even say that’s fairly inappropriate for a 9 year old. That said I could very easily bring that back into style with help from Laurenconrad.com. Where does one find a cell phone like that after all these years…

5. Alex Mack

Alex-Mack-Halloween-Costume

This one might be a little more obscure unless you were a fully coherent child of the 90s capable of spending hours watching Nickelodeon. Yes, Alex Mack is quite simply the best, most simple, and dare I say comfortable costume of the whole bunch. Thanks for the inspo, College Fashion

