Friday Five: August

fridayfive

August is here and that means the dog days of summer are almost over. Thank god. I don’t know how many more 100+ degree days I can take. No one likes looking like a giant tomato every day now do they? With a new month comes plenty of new and exciting things to get ready for. These are 5 at the top of my list.

  • Clothes: Fall should be arriving (it takes forever here) and that means a whole new wardrobe. Okay maybe not a whole new wardrobe but time to add some new stuff! I would love to add this biker jacket from Mango and this linen tee from Acne Studio to my fall closet.
  • Film: There aren’t a whole lot of great albums or movies coming out this month. But there is a little romantic comedy starring Daniel Radcliffe and Zoe Kazan getting a limited release August 8 called What If. It should be interesting to see Daniel without his signature wand and taking on romantic comedies. Oh and it co-stars Adam Driver. Sign me up. Watch the trailer here.
  • Art Exhibit: The last time I went to the museum it was to see the Hollywood Costume exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum. It was pretty cool. Now SMOCA has a really cool exhibition of photographs by Bill Owens called Suburbia. Just from the preview on their website, the photos seem to give such an interesting look at middle class American life. I can’t wait to check it out.
  • Music: As I mentioned before there aren’t too many great albums coming out this month. So, I stumbled upon an old idea: the 30 day music challenge. It’s like the photo a day challenge in the sense you work with a prompt someone has created. Today’s prompt was a song that makes me happy. Naturally I chose Hall & Oates because why not? For the next 30 days I’ll be taking to my Tumblr to share a little bit of my love of music and you can follow along on my playlist tab! I apologize in advance for anything really stupid that happens along the way. 
  • Boozy Book Club is back! Yes and back with full force. I missed book club. Reading a book a long with friends kind of seems like a rough idea, but we seem to make it work. And we agreed fairly quickly on our newest selection: Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman. Maybe I’ll even write a little bit about it here on the blog.
3 comments

Comments are closed.