Hello, July

hellojuly

Far too often I find myself saying, “I can’t believe it’s already _____!” It’s July and I seriously wonder where half of this year already went. I feel like I’m living in that one scene in Garden State. You know the one where Zach Braff is sitting on the couch and everything around him is moving but he’s sitting still? Yeah, like that. Except you know without the drug use and the subsequent orgy, but more feeling like I’m standing on the sidelines while everyone else lives the miraculous, fabulous lives. But with a new month brings the prospect of new and exciting to things to look forward to. These are a few of mine.

Books: According to Entertainment Weekly, Friendship is a great novel for fans of the television series, Girls. It centers around a friendship similar to that of Hannah and Marnie’s except with far more pent up anger and resentment. Now I normally don’t listen to say, the likes of Entertainment Weekly, when it comes to what books I pick up, but I’m willing to give this one a shot.

Television: There’s one thing I love about summer: Big Brother. Both the US and the UK versions. The UK version is my current favorite (#teammark). They are wacky and crazy and love backstabbing each other. I can’t wait to catch up with them (and the latest on Mark’s eyebrows) on the daily.

Fourth of July: Ah, that time of the year where we, as Americans, celebrate our independence from the British. Not entirely sure when it began that we celebrate this with fireworks, BBQs, and a Will Smith movie, but I’ll roll with it. There’s nothing I love more than a cold beer and a viewing of Independence Day to celebrate America. Still not entirely sure what aliens have to do with independence but okay.

Films: I am most excited for Wish I Was Here. It’s been ten years (holy cow) since Garden State, and I’m anxious to see Zach Braff’s follow up about a actor/father trying to find his purpose in life at 35. While it is has similar parallels to Garden State and is meeting mixed reviews, I can’t stop watching the trailer like a wide eyed kid at Disneyland. Not to mention those new songs by the Shins and Bon Iver…

Music: Speaking of music, there’s going to be some new tunes out this month in addition to the (brilliant) Wish I Was Here soundtrack. First up: 5 Seconds of Summer. Hear me out! There was a time where pop punk (whatever you want to call it) reigned supreme. I guess it still kind of does. I don’t run in that circle so I’m not entirely sure. Around this time I was in high school and I loved it, so listening to, what one reviewer called, “frenzied pop punk that tries to dry hump you,” takes me back. I just can’t get enough of it, and if you pre-order on iTunes you’ll receive quite a few tracks now! My favorite so far is Amnesia.  Next up: Jenny Lewis. I love Jenny Lewis. Troop Beverly Hills Jenny. Rilo Kiley Jenny. But especially solo Jenny. I cannot wait to hear The Voyager.

New hair color: If you can’t tell yet, I have a bit of a thing for bright colored hair. I haven’t had the guts to dye my entire head yet. The upkeep just feels so daunting to me, but now Bleach London has a new product I can’t wait to try: hair crayons. They have quite a few products in their new range I want to try, but for now I’ll stick to my soon-to-be rosé locks.

LinksFriendship by Emily Gould /  Wish I Was Here trailer /  5 Seconds of Summer (Available now outside of the US) iTunes pre-order: hereThe Voyager by Jenny Lewis / Hair crayons available for purchase from Bleach London Worldwide

