Mix: The Carrie Diaries (Before you groan just hear me out!)

Kiss Yesterday Goodbye

I’m not quite sure how this one came about, but this past weekend I suddenly found myself hankering for some 80s tunes. Enter The Carrie Diaries. I’m not a teenager and, truth be told, this show shouldn’t even be on my radar, but it is. Apparently there is an entire class of people who don’t really enjoy the fact this show gets Carrie Bradshaw’s backstory wrong, but to be fair name one thing that gets continuity right 100% of the time. Getting back on track the music of the Carrie Diaries is pure 80s goodness. Some of the greatest tunes from the the greatest artists of the 1980s appear on their show and that’s what makes the show so appealing to me. Sure, I groan a lot from stupidity, but I can’t stop watching it. It’s definitely reached guilty pleasure status, and I typically try to shy away from that that term. Oh, well the secret’s out.

So, for my own strange love of 80s pop and new wave music, I picked just some of my favorite songs that appeared on the show and put them together in a little playlist. There are just some shows that have someone working in the music department who is on top of their game even when the show isn’t stellar. The Carrie Diaries is just one of those shows. And even if you don’t channel your inner high school student and love series itself, there’s still plenty of wonderful 80s throwback jams here to enjoy.

I guess for those who follow me on Twitter, all my talk of new wave makes sense now, doesn’t it? I’m still not really sorry about the amount of times I listened to a-ha this past weekend. Tracklist and streaming links after the jump. 

Tracklist:

  1. Our House – Madness
  2. Girls on Film – Duran Duran
  3. Freeze-Frame – The J. Geils Band
  4. You Spin Me Right Round (Like a Record Baby) – Dead or Alive
  5. Road to Nowhere – Talking Heads
  6. Take on Me – a-ha
  7. In Between Days – the Cure
  8. Careless Whisper – George Michael
  9. Dancing With Myself – Billy Idol
  10. King of Rock – Run D.M.C
  11. Drive – The Cars
  12. Pretty In Pink – The Psychedelic Furs
  13. The Future’s So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades – Timbuk 3
  14. My Sharona – The Knack
  15. Whisper to a Scream (Birds Fly) – The Icicle Works
  16. Girls Just Want to Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper
  17. Just Can’t Get Enough – Depeche Mode
  18. Material Girl – Madonna
  19. Dreaming – Blondie
  20. I Melt With You – Modern English
  21. Head Over Heels – The Go-Gos
  22. Brass in Pocket – The Pretenders
  23. Footloose – Kenny Loggins
  24. Alive and Kicking – Simple Minds
  25. Hold Me Now – Thompson Twins

The order might be a bit different, but you can always shuffle whichever way you want. Listen to it over at 8Tracks or Spotify

Enjoy and have the most gnarly Wednesday, guys!

