Albums of the Year 2013

It’s hard to believe 2013 is almost over. I know everyone says that, but I really can’t believe where time has gone. 2013 was a bit strange. It didn’t even feel like Christmas at all and I’m not the only person to say such a thing. More importantly overall 2013 was pretty damn awesome. I’d like to think I grew a lot as a person, shed some negativity from life, and decided to just live how I want after putting way too many people’s thoughts and opinions before my own.

But that’s not why this post is happening. It’s to discuss some pretty good albums of the year. I had originally decided not to chose albums of the year purely because what I find good and what others find good is fairly subjective. And, because this is mainly a text forum and you as a reader know fairly little about me, my musical taste comes off as pretty inconsistent. I’ve said countless times I don’t really like being labeled into a box of someone else’s choosing and even more so with music. But I gave in and chose 10 of my favorite albums of the year just because I literally had nothing else to do this morning.

Keep in mind I am not an industry insider or an expert. I know little to nothing about comparing music and how “dylan-esque” things are or whatever other crazy comparisons they like to make in their reviews. I just liked these albums because they are great and had a lot of rotation (and I mean a lot) in my headphones this year. So, in no particular order:

albumsoftheyear

 

What? No Arcade Fire? No. Unfortunately, I listened to that album three times total, and never picked it up again. No Yeezus? As much as I enjoyed hearing the plights of late croissants, it is absent here. Vampire Weekend no doubt had the best album of the year. Just ask anyone with ears, good taste, and the ability to write a list such as this. As for the appearance of One Direction, some how they shed this catchy pop song mold and came out with this folky, yet pop-ish album that has bursts of classic rock songs. Classic rock songs that are still catchy and definitely about, as one person put it, “plowing your daughter.” It’s a great album and I stand by that.

There they are my favorite albums of the year. What were some of your favorites? 

