Let’s Chat: Met Gala 2013

Last night was the Met Gala, also known as the Costume Institute Ball, and what better thing to do than chat about the fashions. This year’s theme was Punk: Chaos to Couture and I’m no expert but I’d say some people either took it too far or didn’t get the memo at all. I asked my dear friend, Rachael, to chat with me about this years Met Gala fashions. She’s definitely more of an expert than I am, so we decided to each pick a few best and worst dressed and had a little chat about it.

Rachel’s Picks:

rachaelbestworst

 

Best:

Jennifer Lawrence: “She is perfection in Dior, and this point she can do no wrong in my eyes. I even love the fishnet fascinator/mask. The fact she pet Sarah Jessica Parker’s headpiece was amazing.” OB-XJ385_jennif_E_20130506233328

Darren Criss: “His custom plaid suit is perfectly tailored and right on theme. God damn, he’s a sexy beast.” 

Brooklyn Decker: “I love her dress with the sequin detail and the Repossi ear cuff. Her hair is also flawless.” 

Worst:

Miley Cyrus: “I can’t with her. She could have rocked something amazing, but her hair is horrid. You’re number 1 on the Maxim Hot 100, really? I just wasn’t feeling any of it. It was too directly punk and not enough glamour.”

Kristen Stewart: “I really want to know who thought this Stella McCartney pantsuit was a good idea. Her makeup makes her look sickly, and the pantsuit is just so ill fitting.” 

Sarah Jessica Parker: “I just can’t with this whole thing. We get it you like you wearing ridiculous hats/things on your head. The mohawk headpiece was just not working for me. I think the boots were interesting, but just because the theme is punk doesn’t mean you need to put every [punk] theme into one outfit.” 

Anne Hathaway: “I don’t even want to comment because she just annoys me, but I really hope that platinum blonde hair is for a role. She always looks like she tries so hard, and this isn’t any different. The fact this dress is vintage Valentino makes me want to like it, but I can’t. Also Anne, I’ve seen enough of your boobs on the red carpet.” 

I must say I agree about Darren Criss’ custom suit. The tailoring on it is ridiculous (in a good way). I really disliked Kristen’s pantsuit, and who let Miley Cyrus out into the public like that?

My picks: *FAIR WARNING I only like simple things. The Met Gala is certainly not for me*

cwbwmg

 

Best: Yes, it’s true: I love black dresses. Michelle Williams, Carey Mulligan, and Jennifer Lawrence all had stunning black dresses. Emma Watson as well, but she’s not pictured here. Black, I suppose, is a major theme in ‘punk,’ and I enjoyed it was more chic than punk. I guess I grew out of my punk phase in high school. I wanted to choose something else, not simple and black, and it was a toss up between Stacey Keibler, Elizabeth Banks, and Rooney Mara. I like the texture on Stacey Keibler’s dress which is why she is pictured here. I like her whole look until the shoes. I’m just not feeling those shoes. Elizabeth Banks and Rooney Mara also looked stunning and made it onto plenty of best dressed lists so I doubt they will be sad they aren’t featured here.

Worst: 

Katy Perry: What the hell is even happening here? 

Rosie Huntington Whiteley: I can’t begin to even understand what this is. The whole top portion is just terrible. 

Kirsten Dunst: I normally love your style, but the bottom of this dress is pretty bad. The feathers all over the place, I just can’t deal with it. The top isn’t terrible, and there were people dressed far worse than this, but I’m including it. I’m including it because I have such high hopes for your style and this was a let down. 

Jessica Pare: I don’t even know what to say here. It’s just that bad. 

Overall there was a lot of dark (sometimes crazy) makeup, and many dangerous pieces of clothing. (See Sienna Miller’s jacket) For a Met ball the theme of Punk sure was a strange choice, but then again it’s a night for crazy fashion. It made me wonder if half of these people ever understood what punk was, but then I remembered it’s also supposed to be fancy which completely contradicts the entire punk esthetic. I know because I was super into punk music/fashion when I was in high school. Well as much as a 16 year old girl from a rich suburb could be. You know, as punk as Marissa Cooper that time she told Seth she listened to the Cramps, Sex Pistols, Stiff Little Fingers, and the Clash, but was actually listening to Rooney in her car.

 

