Thoughts: iTunes is 10!

itunes

Today marks iTunes’s 10th birthday. 10 years of providing the ability to purchase and listen to embarrassing tunes without anyone knowing. I got inspired, after reading Paste’s List of the Day: Most Played Songs in iTunes, to check out what is in my most played & what I originally purchased 10 years ago. I’ve shared my most played once in the form of a slightly embarrassing mix. Sadly, nothing much has changed on this front. With streaming services like Rdio, iTunes has taken a backseat to many. I still use iTunes frequently, and their new version doesn’t bother me as much as it bothers others. I still use iTunes because my phone needs that valuable space for any necessary reaction GIF, and I won’t get rid of my iPod, a 2005 video version, until it dies.

iTunes, and the iPod itself, changed how I listened to music in high school. I no longer had to lug around a Sony Walkman CD player and a select few CDs to play on my walks between classes. That said, according to my iTunes purchases in the cloud (Thanks for this embarrassing feature, iTunes) I can honestly say I had the strangest music taste back in 2003. Actually, more like 2004/2005. I never used the iTunes Store to purchase music when it first came out. I bought all my music on CDs like a good child. Now I still have all those CDs just chilling in a box somewhere, but with the ability to store my entire music library on a tiny little technological marvel who needs them anymore? Once I received my first iTunes gift card all bets were off. Apparently I didn’t use it very wisely though nor the other 700 of them I received when I graduated high school. What do you give the girl who loves music? MORE MUSIC! (and the ability to purchase the worst array of tunes imaginable)

Shall we take a look? Alright…

Most Played:

Midnight City – M83 (68 plays)
http://rd.io/x/QROCTzfpO_A/

This was my jam for over a year and ended up on pretty much any playlist I made myself. Definitely the reason it has so many plays over the course of its existence in my library. I’m sure at one point, since 2003, my iTunes library has many different most played songs. If I can remember correctly there was one year I couldn’t stop listening to Take On Me by a-ha. I can’t even tell if that was ironically or just some weird phase I went through where I thought that would be really funny. Eventually Midnight City began being used in a Victoria’s Secret commercial, and my love for the tune began to fade into the musical graveyard. Even though it’s not my jam right now, it’s still a solid song worth listening to. I’m just thankful it’s not playing every time I turn on a television.

First Purchased:

Big Pimpin’ – Jay-Z
http://rd.io/x/QROCTzd04rU/

Attempting to decipher my purchases from my 14-year-old sisters purchases was a bit hard, but since that first, now iconic, purchase was mine I can’t hide from it. HOVA was my first purchase. I can’t recall the story of how I came to purchase this tune, or how my first thought looking at the candy store known as iTunes was “Big Pimpin’, good choice.” This purchase shows my true nature as a person. I truly like hip-hop music. Good hip-hop music not any of this Thrift Shop stuff. It’s one of my musical tastes that hasn’t changed since the East coast/West coast battle of the mid-90s. I was too young to take a side, but thankfully MTV was there to introduce me to this new world of music. Eventually I went on to purchase many more Jay-Z tunes as well as tunes by Gwen Stefani and Jimmy Eat World. I told you, my taste varies.

For 10 years iTunes has been taking my hard-earned money when I decide to purchase the flavor of the week. So per request, here’s one song, of many, I purchased for each year of iTunes existence. There’s a significant shift happening.

2003 – no purchases
2004: Big Pimpin’ – Jay-Z
2005: Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down – Fall Out Boy
2006: Deja-Vu – Beyonce featuring Jay-Z
2007: Stronger – Kanye West
2008: Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon
2009: On to the Next One – Jay-Z
2010: Boyfriend – Best Coast
2011: County Line – Cass McCombs
2012: DIY – Keep Shelly In Athens
2013: Now Is Not the Time – CHVRCHES

I’d like to take a moment to thank iTunes for giving me endless amounts of tunes at the click of a button. It gives me the privilege to be embarrassing on the go. Here’s to many more years and hopes you don’t become obsolete due to the existence of Rdio and Spotify.

  iTunes image via Apple

