High School

albums

I’ve been feeling slightly nostalgic lately. Both with music and life in general. I’m not exactly sure why, but it happens. Why anyone feels nostalgic for high school is very confusing. High school was terrible!

I’ve always had an eclectic taste in music, and high school was no different. It stems from many different adults growing up. I listened to everything from 80’s pop with my mom to mellow 70’s easy listening with my grandparents. My favorite though was always my dad’s alternative rock. Just the other day I heard him listening to Green Album era Weezer. My dad even likes rap sometimes, or he’s just watched Jimmy Fallon & Justin Timberlake’s History of Rap enough times to rap along with them. In high school I finally got to start testing the waters of what music I enjoyed listening to.

Above are some of my favorite albums from high school. This was towards my Junior and Senior year (2003/2004), when I got my very first iPod. That meant I could finally stop having to chose which 3 CDs I wanted to bring with me to school every day! iPods were a pretty big deal when they first came out, and mine broke after a month. Way to go, Apple.

From left to right:

Chutes Too Narrow – The Shins / More Adventerous – Rilo Kiley / The Boy With the Arab Strap – Belle & Sebastian        

Hot Fuss – The Killers / Transatlanticism – Death Cab for Cutie / Deja Entendu – Brand New 

