Music Monday: Joy Division + a new mix

valentinesmix

“Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?” – John Cusack in High Fidelity.

“Do you have to be in love to write a love song? Is a song better when it really happened to you?” – Patrick Fugit in Almost Famous

I love both of these quotes. (Well pieces of quotes) Both of them explain my love/hate relationship with different forms of music. There’s times I can stand love songs, and then there are times She’s Like the Wind make me want to hurl a rock through the nearest window. Love songs make us emotional and even long for the better times they represent to us. I’ve heard At Last performed by Etta James half a million times so far in my life. That doesn’t stop me from thinking it’s the perfect song to dance at my wedding to no matter how much my music tastes grow and change. It’s always been that song. Unfortunately I’m not sure whether it’s the beautiful quality of the song, how it just sounds like it should be playing at a wedding, or the simple fact it’s used at pretty much every wedding that made me feel this way, but I do.

I made this mix for Valentine’s Day. I’m usually not the first to lead the anti-Valentine’s Day parade. Like Paul McCartney said, “Some people want to fill the world with silly love songs. What’s wrong with that?” It’s true, I do love Paul McCartney’s silly love songs. I’m not much of a Valentine’s Day fan despite what the next few days on this blog implies. I just enjoy silly love songs of all genres. Maybe all of them aren’t silly, but you get the idea.

1. Sweet Disposition – the Temper Trap

2. Falling In Love at a Coffee Shop – Landon Pigg

3. Just Like Heaven – the Cure

4. Our Deal – Best Coast

5. Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova

6. Have I the Right – Vampire Weekend

7. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out – The Smiths

8. For Emma – Bon Iver

9. Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division

10. This Will Be Our Year (The Zombies Cover) – Memoryhouse

11. Already Yours – Bahamas

12. Marry Me – St. Vincent

13. By Your Side – Beachwood Sparks

Modern Love Story on 8Tracks

In case you don’t care about the whole thing, enjoy some Joy Division for this Monday Morning.

Original Image:Rifle Paper Co Card.

