Music Monday: Holiday Special

holidaymusicweek1

It’s time for a very festive edition of Music Monday.  While I originally planned to start this last week, it just didn’t work out that way. What I’ve gathered over time is there is a great divide when it comes to holiday music. People either love it or they hate it. I, for one, love it. It’s the only time of the year I feel genuinely cheerful towards others (the rest of the year I’ve probably had too much coffee). There’s nothing like a lit up shopping center at night playing classic holiday standards during winter. I’m more of a jazz/classic holiday standard type of girl, but occasionally I’ll listen to some newer tunes. Whatever the argument against holiday music is, I don’t really care. I love this time of year no matter how uncool it may make me seem. Hey..I never claimed to be cool. 

Today’s song, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), is a more recent take on a classic tune originally performed by Darlene Love in the 1960’s. This version, performed by Death Cab for Cutie, first appeared on the Maybe This Christmas Tree compilation, and later on the O.C. christmas compilation, Have a Very Merry Christmukkah. I don’t know why I’m typing all of this information, but with the amount of cover versions holiday songs have I just went with it.

Vintage holiday image: via Google Images

