A Song for Saturday

Valentine’s Day is upon us this week and to somewhat acknowledge that without actually celebrating it fully, I have some pretty cool blog post ideas coming up. My parents have never celebrated Valentine’s Day by their own choice which is why it doesn’t seem like such a big deal to me.

Today is a very special day in the life of one of my best friends, Kendall. Today is the day she has been waiting for since Christmas, The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1 released on DVD. Personally, I think one of the best things the Twilight franchise has ever done with their DVDs is add a large making of the movie documentary. Honestly, for such not good movies they pay a lot of attention to detail. I mean a LOT of attention to details. Details I feel go mostly unnoticed by fans of that whole saga. Also, people definitely underestimate the comic qualities of Robert Pattinson. He’s actually a really funny guy. I’m losing any credibility I would have had. To be real though, give credit where credit is due. Those filmmakers are doing the best they can with the material they have been given. That deserves some respect which I’m all about. One of my, dare I even say this, bands, Iron and Wine, have reworked one of their songs into a wedding version for this movie. I have always had a soft spot in my life for this song since I first heard it. Unfortunately it was eventually used in these movies, but only by Kristen Stewart’s suggestion, which I can respect. I’ve said it before, the one major good quality about these movies is their knack for having some great soundtracks.

I won’t ramble too much about how much I obsess over this song because that is boring to read for everyone. I also won’t mention how it pains me that this song only means so much to people because of this movie. Wait, just did. So, I’m posting the wedding version of Flightless Bird, American Mouth. The only unfortunate part of this version is the misuse of Market Irglova. She has such a beautiful voice that could have really contributed more to the song on this occasion. I recently saw both Iron and Wine and Marketa together in concert where she performed backup for them as well as performing solo. Part of me was disappointed he didn’t play this little ditty while having her there, but more of me understood it was probably best he didn’t play it at all.

So enjoy this little making of the song video they made for Flightless Bird, American Mouth.

Happy Saturday!

Nicole

One comment

Comments are closed.